Death of a prom queen


Originally posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 on myspace.com

She went out of her way to say hi to me one day.
That means alot to me.
It probably means nothing to her, but it means everything to me.

I’ve paid attention to her forever.
Ever since that day she moved here from Cincinatti.
She was so alone, she had no friends.
I knew some people, but I was never too popular.
We talked alot when we first met, about everything.
I learned all I could know about anybody except myself.
Then she got popular.
Whatever.
We were still friends, right?
No.

She became to good for me.
We don’t talk anymore.
But one day, she went out of her way to say hi to me.
After three years she waved frantically from across the quad.

She has an addiction now.
A terrible one.
Cocaine is her drug of choice.
I knew what had happened.
All that pressure from being the most popular girl in school had driven her to a nasty drug habit.
She could never be too skinny.
Or too happy.
Cocaine provided both of those things.
Weight loss.
Temporary happiness.

I should have never said hi back.
But I did.
From that day on, she was back.
For a little bit.

She now called me every night.
I learned more secrets.
It felt closer than ever between us.
But there was something wrong.
She was destroying herself.
I had to convince her to quit.
But I couldn’t do it yet.
And you have to trust me.
I really planned on it.
Until one night.
She invited me to destroy myself, too.

I had never been invited to a party in my entire high school career.
I got drunk for the first time in my life.
I did cocaine for the first time in my life.
I had sex with a girl for the first time in my life.
I drove fucked up for the first time in my life.

I died for the first time in my life.

She went out of her way to say hi to me one day.
That meant alot to me.
She said goodbye too.

Author: rockymcg

sup a/s/l?

Leave a Reply

